If you have a paid yearly membership service that you offer to your users, I understand why it would make sense for you to default it to auto-renew. You don’t want to interrupt membership for your users by it unexpectedly cancelling on them. However, if you’re going to do that, you need to give your users the ability to cancel that auto-renewal if they so choose.

With Adobe’s Creative Cloud monthly subscription plans, you can’t do that. You can cancel at any time during a yearly membership, but doing so immediately ends your access to the Adobe’s software, and you’re billed 50% of your remaining monthly payments. What I’m talking about is simply having the ability to turn off the auto-renewal at the close of the current year. Doing this would continue to charge your account each month and you would continue to have access to the membership service, but at the end of that year, this would all stop. Most services I know have this ability. Strava is a great example of this.

Since Adobe doesn’t have that, if you want to cancel your subscription when your current year is up, you have only one recourse: manually cancel the subscription during the final month of your yearly plan. You can hope you get the email that Adobe sends you 2-3 days before the renewal occurs, or if you want a safer guarantee, you can set up a calendar reminder for yourself.

Here’s NightSkyGuy doing that very thing:

Creating calendar entry now to remind me to cancel next May.

A billing architecture that requires people to set up calendar reminders to cancel their subscriptions is just wrong. Your users shouldn’t have to do that. If they are, make no mistake—you built something wrong.